The Texas law distinguishes between a felony and a misdemeanor. Misdemeanors are crimes that are considered less serious, and felonies are some of the harshest offenses. Within those broad categories there are distinctions to determine the severity of the charge and the correlating consequences.
Both felony and misdemeanor offenses come with a host of collateral consequences that can impact your educational and professional opportunities. A misdemeanor is punishable by up to 12 months in jail. Any criminal offense with a statutory maximum punishment of incarceration that exceeds 12 months is a felony.
Some common examples of Misdemeanors include; but not limited to:
- Criminal mischief
- Driving under the influence of alcohol by a minor
- Driving with a suspended license
- Indecent exposure
- Possession of a controlled substance
- Violation of a protective order
In Texas, misdemeanor charges are broken into three classes: A, B, and C, classes according to the severity of the offense
- Class A Misdemeanor: Conviction of a Class A misdemeanor carries a punishment range of up to one (1) year in the county jail, as well as a fine of up to $4,000.
- Class B Misdemeanor: Conviction of a Class B misdemeanor carries a punishment range of up to 180 days in county jail, as well as a fine of up to $2,000.
- Class C Misdemeanor: Conviction of a Class C misdemeanor carries penalties of up to a $500 fine.
If you have been accused of a misdemeanor in the state of Texas, you may be feeling worried, angry, frustrated, and overwhelmed. You may have a number of questions about the implications of the charges against you and what you should do next. Your first step should always be to contact a Texas criminal defense attorney with a trusted reputation and a long-standing reputation for success and client commitment.